LIFE: First-Person Testimony

I am a single lady and I'm 58 years old. I am disabled and get $552.00 a month. I have a car that is paid for, but I pay $25.96 a month insurance and around $50.00 a month for gasoline. I live in the same house where I have lived for a long time and it costs me $178.36 for my mortgage. Last month my gas, water, and electric altogether were $218.00. That only left me with less than $80.00. I have medicines that cost around $30.00 a month even with Medicaid.

About a year ago I had run up a charge at my grocery even though I get $130.00 a month in food stamps. I needed money for shampoo and toothpaste and stuff, I owed the pharmacy over $800.00 and I had my phone shut off which I need for medical emergencies. I owed a credit card and life insurance.

I have worked with a person from LIFE on budget counseling and have my phone hooked back up, they helped pay on my utilities so I don't owe behind stuff now. I am taking their cooking class and learning recipes that are cheaper than boxed stuff and how to shop better. I don't owe the grocery store any more and have paid a lot of the pharmacy bill. I still have a lot of work to do but it doesn't seem so scary anymore and I know that I can do it and that the LIFE pantry is there to help me. I won't ever be able to get more money. If I was able to have a job I would work all the time, all the hours they would let me but, because of my sickness I can't so I know I will always have this much money and so I am glad that I have learned how to live with this much money. I can have a good life and I am glad LIFE helped me and still helps me. They are good.