Bob Zaltsberg, Mary Alice Gray Award Winner

“I’m humbled by an award like this. I was just doing my job for the last 33 years. I think a good newspaper gets into the community and tries to tell the story of everyone who matters – which is everyone who lives in the community. United Way has been a big part of what I support since I’ve been here -- since the first time a Herald-Times person gave me a pledge card. I’m a proud supporter of United Way and all their agencies – and all the other nonprofits they work with to solve the problems of the community.” 
Bob Zaltsberg, recently retired editor for The Herald-Times, was presented with the Mary Alice Gray Memorial Award for extraordinary volunteer service during the 2018-2019 Annual Celebration. This award recognizes United Way volunteers who have made a significant and sustained contribution to the organization. 
Bob created a lasting impact in our community as a strong, consistent, and fair voice for democracy, both local and beyond. Modeling the habit of charitable giving within the workplace year after year, engaging staff and colleagues in the practice, and responding to requests for in-kind support on a corporate level might be some of the ways we could measure his contributions, but the more powerful ones are difficult to place monetary value on. 
As editor of the local newspaper for more than three decades, Bob understood and honored the important role the third sector plays in the community. United Way, our partners, and the entire community is grateful for the many years of sharing our stories, and by doing so building bridges between agencies, clients, and the broader community.  
In 1989, the Board of Directors of the United Way of Monroe County created the Mary Alice Gray Memorial Award for Extraordinary Service to United Way. Mary Alice Gray served on the Board of Directors from 1978-1983, including as President from 1980 to 1981. This annual award is given to United Way volunteers like Bob who best personify the dedication and commitment of Mary Alice Gray. Over the years, recipients have included a who’s-who of distinguished community givers who have been key to our efforts in creating a lasting impact on the community. 
Congratulations to Bob Zaltsberg for his steadfast work and commitment to the community.