2021-2022 Honors & Awards

​Congratulations and big thanks to these businesses and groups! They are each dedicated to a strong community.


2022 Reimagine Our Future Award Winners


Please join us in celebrating the following individuals and organizations who made significant contributions in time and treasure to help Reimagine Our Future.

Mary Alice Gray Award

Honors a United Way volunteer who best personifies the dedication and commitment of Mary Alice Gray.

  • Lauren Robel

Lauren Robel - Mary Alice Gray Award

​Spirit Award

Recognizes an energetic volunteer who helps elevate United Way’s mission and positive impact

  • Josefa Madrigal

Josefa Madrigal Spirit Award

Business Partner of the Year

Honors businesses that contribute significant time, treasure, and talent to help United Way positively impact the community

  • German American Bank

German American -United Way Award

Partner Agency of the Year

Recognizes partner agencies for their spirit of partnership addressing challenges together and running an outstanding fund drive

  • Area 10 Agency on Aging
  • Community Kitchen of Monroe County
  • Health Net Bloomington Health Center

United Way Partner Agencies Award 2022

Champions of Hope Award

The Champions of Hope Award celebrates employers that gave their United Way campaigns new energy and increased participation and engagement.

  • First United Methodist Church
  • Hoosier Energy
  • Owen County State Bank

United Way Champions of Hope Award 2022

Community Builder Award

The top five largest workplace giving campaigns

  • Cummins Foundation
  • Indiana University
  • IU Credit Union
  • IU Health Bloomington Hospital
  • German American Bank

United Way Community Builders Award 2022

Interested in getting your organization involved with United Way to make your community a better place? Contact Catherine Blankensop at catherine (at) monroeunitedway.org or (812) 334-8370.

In 1989, the Board of Directors of United Way of Monroe County created the Mary Alice Gray Memorial Award for Extraordinary Service to United Way. Mary Alice Gray served on the Board of Directors from 1978-1983 and was President during 1980 and 1981. This annual award is given to United Way volunteers who best personify the dedication and commitment of Mary Alice Gray.

2022    Lauren Robel

2021    Kyle Parker

2019    Bob Zaltsberg

2018    Wain Martin

2017    Doris Burton

2016    Mark Franklin

2015    Heidi Schulz

2014    Kelly Cornett

2013    Kevin Osborne

2011    Mark Moore  

2010    Peg Stice

2009    Jim Grandorf

2008    Kirk R. White

2007    Valynda Laird

2005    Kenneth R. R. Gros Louis

2004    Jean Emery

2003    Harriet Pfister

2002    Jim Muehling

2001    Virginia Metzger

2000    Barry and Denise Lessow

1999    Michael Shermis

1998    Dorothy and Tim Ellis

1997    Marian Battenhouse

1996    Wilbert Williams

1994    Bob Burton

1993    Ellen Ehrlich

1992    Jerry Tardy

1991    Dan Callahan

1990    Ilknur Ralston

1989    Jean Cook